Our Prime Minister
Our Minister

Home  >  About Us  >  Organisational Set-up and Function       

About Us

Organisational Set-up and Functions


The mandate of the Department of Commerce is regulation, development and promotion of India’s international trade and commerce through formulation of appropriate international trade & commercial policy and implementation of the various provisions thereof. The basic role of the Department is to facilitate the creation of an enabling environment and infrastructure for accelerated growth of international trade. The Department formulates, implements and monitors the Foreign Trade Policy (FTP) which provides the basic framework of policy and strategy to be followed for promoting exports and trade. The Trade Policy is periodically reviewed to incorporate changes necessary to take care of emerging economic scenarios both in the domestic and international economy. Besides, the Department is also entrusted with responsibilities relating to multilateral and bilateral commercial relations, Special Economic Zones, state trading, export promotion and trade facilitation, and development and regulation of certain export oriented industries and commodities.

The Department is headed by a Secretary who is assisted by an Additional Secretary & Financial Advisor, four Additional Secretary and eleven Joint Secretaries & Joint Secretary level officers and a number of other senior officers.

The Department is functionally organized into the following eight Divisions:


1. Administration and General Division
2. Finance Division
3. Economic Division
4. Trade Policy Division
5. Foreign Trade Territorial Divisions
6. State Trading & Infrastructure Division
7. Supply Division
8. Plantation Division.



The various offices / organizations under the administrative control of the Department are: (A) three Attached Offices, (B) ten Subordinate Offices, (C) ten Autonomous Bodies, (D) five Public Sector Undertakings, (E) two Advisory Bodies, (F) fourteen Export Promotion Councils and (G) five Other Organizations.



Home       Terms & Conditions     c   Copyright Policy           Hyperlink Policy           Privacy Policy  |      Sitemap  |      Disclaimer  |